There are no annonying redirects, bear with our social bar ads Contact Us Buy Now!

How to Rollback to the Previous Save File in Palworld

How to Rollback to Previous Save File in Palworld - Have you been facing problems with your save file in Palworld. This guide will help you roll back.
Join us on Telegram How to Rollback to Previous Save File in Palworld - Have you been facing problems with your save file in Palworld. This guide will help you roll back to the previous saved file with your progress intact.
How to Rollback to the Previous Save File in Palworld
Table of Contents

How to Rollback to the Previous Save File in Palworld

This guide will walk you through the steps to restore a saved file. 

Most of you are probably here because your save file has been corrupted, and I understand how frustrating that is, so I've created this guide to make the process as easy and stress-free as possible.

Access the Save folder

The first thing we need to do is actually find our save folder, this is easy to do.


The first way to do this is to open the folder with the run command

Press (Win + R) and then type the text below in the window that appears
%localappdata%\Pal\Saved\SaveGames
How to Rollback to the Previous Save File in Palworld
Then click "OK"

A window should open and you should see the folder and file. Just open the folder as we are not interested in the file for this guide. 

After opening this folder you should see a folder called a bunch of gibberish next to the steam autocloud file. 

Open the folder, this is your save folder and it should look something like this.
How to Rollback to the Previous Save File in Palworld

Warning

(You don't need to read this unless you've played on other people's worlds / created multiple worlds)

If you joined a multiplayer world or have multiple worlds on your computer there will be some folders named gibberish, I don't know if there is a way to tell which world is which but you have to figure it out. 

The easiest way to tell which folder is the save is to look at the time the folders were last modified. It's also worth noting that if the world isn't hosted by your computer (aka you've joined someone else's game) there will be a local saves folder for it, you can tell it's not a world you've hosted because those folders won't contain saves data for the world.

Using backup files

Read if you've hosted a multiplayer game in the world
(if you haven't done so, skip to the next paragraph)

If you hosted a world as multiplayer there will be 2 folders in the backup folder, "world" and "local", it is important to do the following steps for both folders if you have both.

Players who join your world will also need to follow these steps, except they will only have the local folder instead of both, make sure they go back to the same save as you to avoid any file conflicts/errors. 

Sorry if this is confusing, I made this guide with one player in mind, but I hope it makes sense.

Now that we have found our save folder, we need to use the backup that is here. Open the backup folder, inside there will be a folder called "world", open this folder. 

Depending on how long you've been playing, there will be varying amounts of components. In my example, there are only two backups. DO NOT use the most recent folder (the one furthest down the list) as it is probably corrupted, instead open the folder or two above it as seen below.
How to Rollback to the Previous Save File in Palworld
After opening the folder, select everything in it and copy
How to Rollback to the Previous Save File in Palworld
Then go back to your save folder and paste, and select "Replace files in destination" when prompted.
How to Rollback to the Previous Save File in Palworld
How to Rollback to the Previous Save File in Palworld
If there was a folder named local in the backup folder, repeat the above steps using only the local folder

Make sure you test the file and make sure it works fine, if there are any problems try going back to an older save.

I'm not 100% sure about the local file backups, my testing led me to believe that they are only created when the world is used in multiplayer, so I referenced that in the guide. 

Please correct me if I'm wrong and I'll update the guide.

Thanks for reading my blog post on How to Rollback to Previous Save File in Palworld. If this post answers your questions, bookmark my blog for more game content, and if you want to add a suggestion, drop a comment.

Written ByMegaStyles

Join us on Telegram

Getting Info...

Post a Comment

Cookie Consent
We provide cookies on this website to analyze traffic, remember your preferences and optimize your experience.
Oops!
It seems there is something wrong with your internet connection. Please connect to the internet and start browsing again.
AdBlock Detected!
We have detected that you are using adblocking plugin in your browser.
The revenue we earn by the advertisements is used to manage this website, we request you to whitelist our website in your adblocking plugin.
Site is Blocked
Sorry! This site is not available in your country.